GOVERNANCE WATCH
By InsidEntity Editorial Desk · Sep 23, 2026 · 12 min read
GOVERNANCE WATCH
Nissan’s nomination committee concluded that a long-serving outside director was independent and should be re-elected. Two proxy advisers and Nissan’s largest alliance partner took the opposite view. In June, the shareholders rejected him. The disagreement goes to the heart of how independence is measured, including by us.
| Metric | Value | Significance |
|---|---|---|
| Company Risk Rating | 3.16 (Good) | Governance structure on current inputs |
| Director Independence | 5.00 | Default input: questionnaires not completed |
| Auditor Independence | 0 | Terminal band; tenure not established |
| Financial Stability Rating | 3.3 (Good) | Full-year audited statements |
| June 2026 AGM | 11 of 12 nominees elected | One outside director rejected |
| Renault’s economic stake | ~35.7% | Direct plus trust-held shares |
| Renault’s freely exercisable votes | 15% | Below the 20% threshold |
On 23 June 2026, Nissan’s shareholders elected eleven of the twelve directors the board had nominated. The twelfth, Motoo Nagai, was rejected. A separate shareholder proposal was also rejected.
Contested director votes are unusual at Japanese annual meetings. This one had been contested in public for weeks.
Nagai had joined Nissan as a statutory auditor in 2014 and became a director in 2019. He was closely involved in the company’s investigation of former chairman Carlos Ghosn, who was arrested on 19 November 2018. He is also a former senior Mizuho banker, and Mizuho is one of Nissan’s main lenders.
Nissan’s nomination committee considered those facts. In a letter to shareholders, its chair, Andrew House, said the committee had concluded that Nagai’s independence was not compromised and that his re-election was in the best interests of the company and its shareholders.
The two largest proxy advisers disagreed. Institutional Shareholder Services and Glass Lewis both recommended voting against him. Glass Lewis stated that he was not independent.
Renault, which holds 17.1% of Nissan’s shares and can freely exercise 15% of the voting rights, planned to abstain on Nagai, according to people familiar with its plans. It had the same concerns about a second nominee with Mizuho ties, Junichi Shinbo.
Shinbo was elected. Nagai was not.
Nissan carries an InsidEntity Company Risk Rating of 3.16, Good. Its Director Independence pillar scores 5.00, and until June the platform’s record listed Nagai as an independent director.
The board’s answer, the proxy advisers’ answer and the platform’s default all differed. That is the story.
What the vote shows, and what it does not
It would be easy to say that Renault removed Nagai. The evidence does not support that.
Renault’s position was the same on Nagai and on Shinbo, and Shinbo was elected. The proxy advisers’ recommendations against Nagai carried weight with institutional investors that Renault’s abstention alone could not. Nagai’s longer association with the company, twelve years including his time as statutory auditor, set his case apart.
The exact vote totals for Nagai and Shinbo have not been obtained, so no claim is made here about the size of the margin or which factor was decisive.
What the vote does show is narrower, and more useful: when a board’s judgement on independence is put to shareholders, the shareholders can reach a different answer.
The three answers to one question
Nissan’s board applied its own Director Independence Standards and the Tokyo Stock Exchange’s requirements, and concluded that Nagai was independent.
The proxy advisers applied their own tests. At least one concluded he was not.
InsidEntity’s methodology did not reach a conclusion at all. It presumes a director independent until the director completes the independence questionnaire. Nissan’s directors have not completed it, so Nagai, like every other Nissan director, was recorded as independent by default.
That is not the same as the platform agreeing with the board. It is the platform recording that the question had not been answered by the people best placed to answer it.
There is a further point worth being honest about. The questionnaire asks, among other things, whether a director has served more than ten years, does business with the company, or holds a material stake. Nagai’s seven years as a director would not have triggered the tenure question on its own; the objection to him rested on his earlier role as statutory auditor and his Mizuho background. A completed questionnaire might not have flagged him either.
Independence is a judgement. The methodology can record who made it and on what disclosure. It cannot make it for them.
What the 3.16 rating actually says
CRR based on publicly available governance information. Nissan is recorded as unverified. Ratings update regularly; check the live report for the current view.
| Component | Score | Reading |
|---|---|---|
| Director Independence | 5.00 | Default input |
| Shareholder Influence | 4.50 | Excellent |
| Director Capacity | 3.13 | Good |
| Auditor Independence | 0 | Terminal band |
| Overall Rating | 3.16 | Good |
1 Risk, 2 Caution, 3 Good, 4 Excellent, 5 Benchmark. Until the independence questionnaires are completed, the current-input calculation uses equal weighting across the four pillars: (5.00 + 4.50 + 3.13 + 0) / 4 = 3.1575, displayed as 3.16. The 40% Director Independence weighting described below applies once the questionnaire-based assessment is populated; applying it now, ahead of that disclosure, would not be a more accurate reading, only a different unverified one.
The overall number hides a wide spread: one pillar at the top of the scale on a default, one at the bottom on an assessment, and the spread inside the rating is the real story here, more than the single 3.16 figure.
Director Independence: a default input, not an observed Benchmark
The 5.00 on Director Independence is the methodology’s default value. It should not be read as an observation that Nissan’s board is Benchmark-independent.
Nissan’s own disclosures give a clearer picture than the default. Of the eleven directors elected in June, seven are designated independent outside directors: Akiyoshi Koji (chair), Delmas, House, Harvey, Tokuno, Shinbo and Greenway. Of the other four, two, Ivan Espinosa and Eiichi Akashi, are executive officers of the company. The remaining two, Landon and Ryan, are believed to be Renault’s nominees under the alliance agreement, arrived at by elimination against the confirmed list rather than independently confirmed.
That is a majority-independent board with executive and alliance-nominated directors whose roles are structurally different from those of independent outside directors. It is a common and lawful structure. It is also exactly what the questionnaire is designed to make visible on the platform.
Setting the default aside, the other three pillars average 2.54, Caution: (4.50 + 3.13 + 0) / 3.
That is not Nissan’s rating. It is a single-input sensitivity, and it shows how materially the Director Independence default influences the displayed result.
Shareholder Influence: one holder, two different numbers
[EDITOR: the platform should confirm this explicitly before publishing. On the reading below, the holder behind the 20%+ concentration score is Renault, on a combined-stake basis. That has not been confirmed by the platform itself and is presented here as the most likely explanation, not a confirmed fact.]
Shareholder Influence scores 4.50, Excellent: the maximum 3.0 on the shareholder-count component for a broad register, and 1.5 out of 2.0 on concentration, consistent with one recorded holder at or above the 20% material-influence threshold.
Nissan’s own register, and Renault’s own disclosures, show why that figure is not straightforward. Renault’s direct holding is 17.1%, plus 18.7% held in a French trust to which Renault transferred shares; combined, that is a stake of roughly 35.7% to 35.8% of Nissan’s capital. But the trust’s shares are voted neutrally, and under the alliance agreement Renault can freely exercise only 15% of the vote.
So there are two correct numbers, answering two different questions. On economic ownership, Renault is comfortably above the 20% concentration threshold, which is the more plausible basis for the platform’s recorded score. On voting power, the figure that actually mattered at the June AGM, Renault controlled 15%, below that threshold.
The register-based concentration score describes structural ownership. It is not a measure of voting power, and June is a reminder that the two can diverge sharply for the same holder. A shareholder can sit above a concentration threshold on paper and below the line that would give it working control of a vote, and still, acting alongside independent proxy advisers, help change the composition of a board.
Auditor Independence: an unresolved tenure
Auditor Independence scores 0.
That is not missing data. It is the methodology’s terminal band. The published tenure clock scores an audit relationship at 5.00 for one to three years and steps down until, beyond ten years, it scores nothing.
Nissan’s securities report, filed 22 June 2026, confirms Ernst & Young ShinNihon as the company’s independent auditor for the year to 31 March 2026. How long that specific relationship has run is not established from the documents reviewed for this piece, and no tenure figure is asserted here.
Japanese audit rules generally require the individual engagement partner, rather than the firm, to rotate periodically. Whether that requirement has been met on Nissan’s engagement has not been separately confirmed.
Of the four pillars, this is the one most directly alterable through Nissan’s own auditor appointment process, which its audit committee leads.
Director Capacity: a board in motion
Director Capacity scores 3.13, Good. It measures bandwidth and spread of commitments across the board as a whole, not any individual’s performance.
The board has turned over substantially. In 2025, chief executive Makoto Uchida left in April, and chairman Jean-Dominique Senard left in June. In 2026, the board went from twelve directors to eleven, with Akiyoshi Koji, Junichi Shinbo and Joy M. Greenway joining. Director Capacity will move as the new directors’ other mandates are captured.
What the FSR says
Nissan’s Financial Stability Rating is 3.3, Good.
The FSR is built from full-year audited statements only. It rewards consistency across three years and tests current cash coverage against the cost base. It does not use interim figures.
Nissan’s audited results show net losses of ¥670.9 billion in FY2024 and ¥533.1 billion in FY2025, with revenue down 0.4% and then 4.9%. Net assets remained positive throughout, and cash stood at ¥2.26 trillion.
The external credit ratings, per the InsidEntity Nissan report, are Moody’s Ba2, Fitch BB and S&P BB-, all below investment grade.
The instruments ask different questions. The FSR asks what the company’s own audited statements say about its financial sustainability over three years. A credit rating is a forward-looking view of the risk of repaying debt. In the middle of a restructuring, the two can point in different directions.
Five things to watch
First, how does Nissan’s nomination committee respond? Its independence judgement on Nagai was rejected by shareholders. Its next slate will show whether it applies a different test.
Second, do Nissan’s directors complete the independence questionnaires? The 2.54 figure is a single-input sensitivity, not a competing rating or a prediction of where the pillar lands once questionnaires are completed, but it shows how materially the current default input affects the displayed 3.16.
Third, how does Renault use its 15% voting bloc against its larger economic stake? June showed that a shareholder below the material-influence voting threshold can still matter in a contested vote.
Fourth, does Nissan put its audit out to tender? How long the EY ShinNihon relationship has run is itself worth establishing before that question can be sharpened further.
Fifth, does Re:Nissan reach the full-year audited numbers? That is what the FSR and the credit agencies will both be reading.
The point of the ratings
On governance structure, Nissan is 3.16, Good. On financial condition, it is 3.3, Good.
Inside the first number sit a Benchmark that is a default, an Excellent built on a layered register, and a zero for an audit relationship whose length has not been established.
The June vote did not prove the rating right or wrong. It did something more useful. It put one of the rating’s inputs, director independence, in front of shareholders as a live question, and showed three different ways of answering it.
The board said independent. The proxy advisers said not. The questionnaire that would put the directors’ own answers on the record is still blank.
The board chooses the nominees. Shareholders still decide whether those nominees take their seats. June made that distinction unusually visible.
About the InsidEntity Company Risk Rating
The InsidEntity Company Risk Rating (CRR) scores companies on a 1 to 5 scale across four pillars: Director Independence, Director Capacity, Auditor Independence and Shareholder Influence.
Until a company’s directors complete the independence questionnaires, the four pillars are weighted equally and the rating is their average. That is the methodology’s default state, and the published figure is the rating on current inputs. Once the questionnaires are completed, Director Independence is weighted at 40% and the other three pillars at 20% each.
1.00 to 1.99: Risk. 2.00 to 2.99: Caution. 3.00 to 3.99: Good. 4.00 to 4.99: Excellent. 5.00: Benchmark.
About the Financial Stability Rating
The Financial Stability Rating (FSR) is a separate instrument from the CRR. It assesses financial health from full-year audited statements rather than governance structure, and is designed to be read alongside the governance score, not combined with it.
Read the full InsidEntity FSR methodology
Know your entity.
Editorial Notes and Sources
Nissan news release on the 127th Ordinary General Meeting of Shareholders (23 June 2026). Nissan Corporate Governance Report (7 July 2026): major shareholders as of 31 March 2026, Renault’s voting arrangements, board and committee composition, executive officers. Nissan securities report, filed 22 June 2026: net losses and revenue for FY2024 and FY2025, cash position, and confirmation of Ernst & Young ShinNihon as independent auditor; this report does not state the length of that audit relationship, which is not asserted in this piece. Nissan leadership page, as of 24 June 2026. Reporting via Japan Times, Yahoo Finance and MarketScreener on the Nagai vote, the proxy adviser recommendations and Renault’s position. InsidEntity Nissan report: pillar scores, director list, credit ratings.
Editorial decisions: no single party is described as having decided the vote, and no AGM vote percentages are cited because they could not be independently confirmed by the time of publication. Renault’s intended abstention is reported as sourced to people familiar with its plans, not confirmed directly. “Not designated independent” is not equated with “not independent”. The identification of Landon and Ryan as Renault’s nominees is an inference by elimination against Nissan’s own disclosures, not an independently confirmed fact, and is labelled as such. The holder behind the platform’s 20%+ concentration score is presented as most likely Renault on a combined direct-plus-trust basis, distinct from Renault’s 15% voting rights; this has not been confirmed by the platform itself. The 2.54 figure is a single-input sensitivity, not a competing rating or a prediction. Auditor tenure is not stated because it could not be confirmed. The FSR is shown as a headline only.
This is independent research, not financial advice.
